

The different Anglian and Saxon States, in the order of their reputed settlement, were—KENT, SUSSEX, WESSEX, ESSEX, EAST ANGLIA (comprising North-folk and South-folk), NORTHUMBRIA (separated into Deira and Bernicia), and MERCIA, which was conquered by Anglians and was mainly subject to Northumbria. The seven chief States are sometimes called *The Heptarchy*, or Rule of Seven; but there never were at any one time seven independent States.

The native Britons, or Welsh as the Anglo-Saxons called them, were driven into Cornwall (or West Wales), North Wales, Cumbria, and Strathclyde.