province has a Lieutenant-Governor and a Legislature of its own-the latter generally consisting of two Houses.

22. The governments of the Australasian Colonies are very similar to those of the provinces of Canada, with the exception Australasian that the legislative council, or Upper House, is generally appointed by the Crown. In New Zealand, New South Wales, and Queensland, there is in each a Governor and a Cabinet, or executive council, of four or five members, appointed by the Crown; a legislative council of from fifteen to thirty members, also appointed by the Crown; and a legislative assembly, or Lower House, elected by the people. In South Australia, the legislative council is elected by the whole colony voting as one province; in Tasmania and Victoria, it is elected by the upper and moneyed classes, but in other respects the arrangements are the same as in the neighboring colonies.

23. India is an example of a dependency still directly under imperial control. Since 1858 the affairs of India have been regulated by the Secretary of State for India and the Indian Council, sitting in London, of which the Secretary is president. The Council consists of fifteen members-seven appointed by the Court of Directors of the East India Company, and eight by the Crown. The executive authority in India is vested in the Viceroy, appointed by the Crown, and responsible to the Secretary of State for India. He is assisted in his administrative duties by a Supreme Council sitting at Calcutta, consisting of five ordinary members nominated by himself and the Commander-in-chief, with six additional members appointed for the purpose of framing laws and regulations. There are also seven chief Secretaries of State in India, to superintend the different departments of the government. For administrative purposes, India is divided into eight provinces under Governors or Commissioners, four smaller provinces directly under the Government of India, and 154 feudatory states administered by Hindu and Mohammedan chiefs, with the aid of English political agents. Madras and Bombay (with Scinde) have each a Governor; Bengal, the North-West Provinces (with Oude), and the Punjab, each a Lieutenant-Governor; the Central Provinces, Assam, and British Burma, each a Chief Commissioner.

24. Ceylon, which in government is independent of India, is an example of a government in which the local and the im-Ceylon. perial elements are combined. But the influence of the latter greatly preponderates. The Governor and the executive council of five members are appointed by the Crown. The legislative council contains fifteen members-five of them are the executive council, other four are also officials, and six only are unofficial.