Treaty of Utrecht, 1713, A.D.— By the Treaty of Utrecht peace was concluded between France and Great Britain. Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, and Hudson's Bay territory were ceded to Great Britain. Cape Breton, Prince Edward Island, and Canada were still retained by France.

CHAPTER VI.

AN ERA OF CONFLICT AND UNCERTAINTY.

The Treaty of Utrecht gave Nova Scotia to the English; but for a long time things were in an unsettled state. For about half a century, conflict and uncertainty prevailed, and the country made little progress. The French Acadians still occupied their lands, but they refused to become British subjects. The Indians, who had been taught to look upon the English as enemies, were openly hostile, committing many acts of outrage and murder. Moreover, the French asserted that they had ceded only the peninsula to Great Britain, and that the country on the north of the Bay of Fundy still belonged to them.

Early Governors.— Previous to the founding of Halifax, Annapolis was the capital of Nova Scotia. The first governor was Colonel Nicolson, who commanded at the taking of Port Royal. At the end of three years, he was succeeded by Colonel Phillips, who for thirty-two years drew his salary as governor of Nova Scotia, although at the end of five years he removed to England, and never returned to the country of which he was nominally governor. During the