(4) "Trial by jury.

(5) "That justice shall not be sold or delayed."

From the above facts and statements we learn (1) that the English nation has always preferred an hereditary sovereign, as its executive head; (2) that the authority of the monarch has been conferred by the people, and (3) that, as confirmed by history, these two facts have been assented to by sovereigns and parliaments for centuries, and that when a sovereign has violated his oath, the nation has transferred that authority to another, but always of the same family.

The sovereign power of a nation is two-fold. It is a legislative power, and makes laws for the welfare of the people. It is also executive in its nature and can enforce obedience to law. The power which the English people confer upon their Sovereign is shared by them, for purposes of legislation. The parliament consists of the Sovereign, Lords, and Commons, called the three estates of the realm. A committee of the Commons advises the Sovereign as to the exercise of his power in enforcing the laws. [See page 74.]

4. This system of government, which is called a limited Monarchy, has been transferred by Great Britain to her colonies, by means of the Special Acts* of Parliament, passed for that purpose.

The last of such Special Acts was that of 1867, the "British North America Act," which, out of the several separate colonies with as many constitutions, all nearly alike, created the "Dominion of Canada," and gave it a constitution of its own. The union then formed has been called a federacy, or confederation, because the terms of a constitution which joins provinces or states together for certain purposes, and leaves them independent for others,