relations with the Home Government. Their Governors were the direct representatives of the Crown. Their Legislatures also considered every matter pertaining to their respective provinces in all their relations. Having become parts of the Dominion, there is now but one direct representative of the Crown for them all—the Governor-General—who appoints their Lieutenant-Governors and may remove them. Having given up to the Dominion Parliament extensive powers of legislation with reference to their mutual relations, their own powers of legislation are now limited to certain specified subjects relating to their internal management. Beyond these subjects they may not go, but upon them the Dominion Parliament may not trespass.

2. By the Act of 1867, all laws formerly in force in the provinces were continued, and each province retained the form of its legislature, and method of procedure therein, along with the power to modify these as occasion might require. Accordingly we find the form of legislature existing in some provinces to consist of one House, and in others of two Houses. In Prince Edward Island the members of the second House or Legislative Council are elected, while in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Quebec they are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governors. The numbers of members of the Provincial Legislatures are as follows:—

or one I rovincial Legis	Legislative Legislative	
	Assembly.	Council.
Prince Edward Island	33	13
Nova Scotia	37	17
New Brunswick		
Quebec	65	24
Ontario	88	
Manitoba	20	
British Columbia	25	