

## WESTERN STATES.

- 1. The western States comprise Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Missouri, Arkansas, Wisconsin and Iowa, together with the territories of Oregon, Upper California, New Mexico, Missouri, Minnesota, and the Indian Territory.
- 2. From the great extent of this region, its climate possesses considerable variety of temperature; the winters are more variable, and the quantity of snow is less than in the same parallels in the Atlantic States.
- 3. The most striking features of this vast country are its numerous rivers, towering forests, and extensive prairies. The latter are wide-spreading plains, stretching farther than the eye can reach, destitute, for the most part, of trees, and covered with tall grass and flowering shrubs.
- 4. That part of this region lying between the Rocky and Alleghany Mountains is often called the Mississippi Valley,

Western States. Q.—1. What do the Western States comprise?

2. What is said of the climate? The winters?

3. The most striking features? What are prairies?

4. What is part of this region called?