turtle; it has now a small garrison. St. Helena is a high rocky island, and has but one harbour and town (Jamestown): it is noted for having been the residence of Napoleon Bonaparte for six years: he died there in May, 1821. In 1840, his remains were conveyed to France.

7. The ETHIOPIAN ARCHIPELAGO, situated on the eastern side of Africa, comprises Madagascar, the Mascarenha, Seychelle, Almirante, Comoro, and some other smaller islands.

8. Madagascar is the largest of the African islands. It has a healthful climate, a fertile soil, and is said to be rich in minerals. The inhabitants consist of Arabs, Malays, and Negroes. Some of these cultivate the ground, and are not destitute of arts: others are pirates, and

commit depredations on the neighbouring islands.

9. IMERINA, or the kingdom of the Ovahs, the most important state in this island, was founded by Radama. This prince patronized the missionaries, and endeavoured to civilize his subjects by introducing among them European arts and sciences. He was poisoned by his wife in 1828. Since his death, the kingdom has been the scene of anarchy and confusion. Tananarivou is the capital. Bombetok Bay, and the other bays and ports, are sometimes visited by American vessels.

- 10. Eastward from Madagascar are the MASCARENHA ISLANDS. These are Bourbon, and Mauritius or the Isle of France; both are well settled, fertile islands: coffee and sugar are the chief products. Mauritius is the scene of the inimitable tale of Paul and Virginia. Bourbon contains a volcano constantly burning, which serves at night as a lighthouse to mariners. Port Louis, in Mauritius, and St. Denis, in Bourbon, are the chief towns.
- 11. The Seychelle and Almirante Islands are a dependency of Mauritius: they produce cotton and cocoa-nuts. Mahe, on Mahe island, is the capital of the first-named group. The Comoro Isles are mountainous but fertile. The inhabitants have been nearly all extirpated by the ravages of the Madagascar pirates.
- 12. Monfia, Zanzibar, and Pemba, are fertile, well-settled islands, and belong to Muscat. Zanzibar, on the island of the same name, contains 50,000 inhabitants; it is the largest town in the dominions of the Sultan of Muscat. Socotra is subject to the Sultan of Keshin in Arabia, and is chiefly noted for the superior quality of its aloes.

Map No. 25. — Tell the population of the following islands, and the nations to which they belong: Azores, Madeira, Canary, Cape Verde, Ascension, St. Helena, Mauritius, Bourbon, Almirante, and Seychelle. Population of Madagascar? How long is it? Its northern cape? Ao.—Southern? S. My.—How far from Madagascar to Australia? What islands west of Madagascar? Co.—What islands belong to Muscat? Pa., Zr., Ma.—What island belongs to Keshin?

opian Archipelago comprise? 8. What is said of Madagascar? 9. Imerina? 10. Describe the Mascarenha Islands. 11. The Seychelle, &c. Comoro. 12. Monfia, &c. Socotra.